As Ramadan comes to an end…

I know I’ve been gone for quite a while now, but I do have a perfectly good reason for it. Over the past month, Muslims around the world have been fasting as part of their duty, a duty each and every Muslim should fulfil unless they have a medical reason not to; the fasting during the month of Ramadan. I’ll be completely truthful and I’ll admit that this year, the fasting was not as easy as other years; mainly because of the weather I’d suppose. UK truly did get a proper summer this year, but to our luck, the sun seems to have disappeared just as Ramadan came to an end.

Talking of ends, Ramadan has flown past, despite the long day struggles in the scorching heat fighting the hunger and thirst and putting all of our efforts in to getting through the day, preparing for sunset (Iftar), I sure do have to admit that Ramadan is my most favourite time of the year. It has this sense of peace within it, a sense that no matter what happens, nothing will go wrong. I always seem to accept my daily life better during the month of Ramadan, and no matter how hungry or thirsty you get during the day, you never actually ever utter a word of complaint.

I guess Ramadan in some ways helps us realise what hunger and thirst means. It makes us think twice about the basic necessities that we take for granted. I mean sure, summer brought warm days to the UK, but it wasn’t as warm as most of the countries around the world. Now I’m talking about the countries where they don’t even have clean water to overcome thirst. Each day, we have food on our plates and clean water to drink. And Muslims fast for one month out of the year, but yet even that month ends with a feast, the festival of Eid. The day families and friends gather and share their joy and happiness. And celebrate the “Feast of the Breaking of the Fast”.

There are people out there who spend most of the year in the state of fast, with barely any clean water to drink, no food and no correct medication, they spend each day trying to fight hunger and thirst. Yet they always seem more thankful than us.

My Mum always says to us, “it is those whom have everything they need that are the most ungrateful ones, look at those whom don’t even have the basic necessities, they’ll never utter words of complaint”. My Mum is definitely right, I’m definitely guilty of complaining even about the smallest of things, but when I think of those who have nothing compared to me, I am truly grateful and those words of complaint will never be uttered from my lips.

That is one thing Ramadan teaches us, it teaches us to be grateful for what we have, it makes us think of all those people around the world who are in a state of struggle day-in day-out and it teaches us to be patient.

Leave a Reply

